Gallery: King Abdullah I Mosque

Yesterday, CIEE organized a trip for us to visit the King Abdullah I Mosque near where I used to live in Weibdeh!  I have driven past this huge and beautiful mosque many times, and I was so excited to finally go inside and see how beautiful it is.  This is the only mosque in Jordan that is open to tourists and visitors, so I’m really glad that I got to visit it with a group and learn a lot about it.

It was built in the 1980s, and the dome is covered in beautiful blue mosaics that sparkle in the sun.  It can house up to 3,000 Muslims for prayer at a time, and is one of the biggest mosques in Jordan.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

