Assimilation in Amman

Glad I read this quick article about a few things to expect in Amman! Can’t wait to experience them myself.

ISA Study Abroad Student Blog

Harold Lyonsis a student at the University of Maine, Orono and an ISA Featured Blogger. Harold is currently studying abroad in Amman, Jordan on an ISA Fall 1 program.

I grew up on small island off of the coast of Maine. With a population of 700 people, it is a far cry from Amman, a Middle Eastern cultural hub of 2.8 million. I have traveled to urban centers in the United States, but nothing compares to Amman. Needless to say, I was not sure what to expect when I arrived at Queen Alia International Airport. The first week has been a learning experience that started the second I got off of the plane. Did you know Jordanians do not believe in forming lines? I spent close to 15 minutes with Jordanians passing me left and right at the baggage claim before I realized they weren’t being rude…

View original post 393 more words

Leave a Reply

